Wound or Plain 3rd?

Sky65

Curious what type of third string you all are using and why. Wound or plain? I'm new to electric guitars and my acoustics always used a wound third. I have a Korina SC SE with Dragon I pups.

Thanks
Tom

On solid body electric, (9-10 gauge strings), I use a plain 3rd.

On hollowbodies (especially w/a piezo), I use a set of D'Addario 10's w/a wound 3rd...

Depends on how low you plan on tuning, if you go to low you could try the wound G. some people like it. Other than that go with plain.

If you want to beef up you mids than try a wound 3rd
For years I was a big fan of Jazz Lite sets 11-52 with a wound 3rd on Strats
Hell on you hands but huge sound for me.

Plain for me. 10-46 tuned down 1/2 step. I keep one guitar down full step but still use plain third.

Thanks for the replies! I'm still getting used to an el.electric solid body and just using standard tuning right now. Plain it is.

Tom

One of the best things about playing electric guitar is bending the strings! This is very different from acoustic...

A wound G string just doesn't bend right. You want a plain G if you're really playing electric.

One of the best things about playing electric guitar is bending the strings! This is very different from acoustic...

A wound G string just doesn't bend right. You want a plain G if you're really playing electric.
I'm working on that. I"m using PRS 10s right now. Feels good except the 5th and 6th strings bend noticeably easier than the the rest. Especially 6th. I'm thinking want heavier than standard strings for them. Can you buy individual PRS strings?

Tom