BabyDracula

Excuse my questions I'm a PRS newbie and guitar novice

I recently bought a 2nd hand PRS S2 Singlecut and it needs to be re-wired (having weird issues where they guitar stops working if tilted. Checked connection on pots and switch, seem fine -maybe someone has tips)
- I'm trying to return to factory specs but I have no idea where to get the 1.1k and 2.2k blocks - I'm assuming they're resistors

I found some at stew Mac but they are listed as "1K-ohm, 1/2W" and "2.2K-ohm, 1/2W"

Are they're any specific parts (Brand/type) I would need in order to get this back to the "factory setting".

Any help would be appreciated.

fk9bpwa.png

Any electrical supplier will have these, too, but what you’ve found should work. For best results, find the exact value. Even a 100ohm deviation can make a difference. In a pinch, it’ll do.

I guess to further elaborate - I'm seeing metal and carbon resistors. I saw a source that claims they are the carbon ones.

I am also seeing "1/2 W" and "1/4 W" any idea which* they are?

[edit: * = I knew W was watts, but I wrote "what" instead of "which". Fixed!]

Last edited:
Are you sure that it is not a pup issue, or pup wiring issue, or even a faulty volume pot? Generally speaking, it is likely not necessary to replace everything in the circuit. Does the sound cut out in all selector switch positions?

W = watts, and in this case, 1/4 watt, or 1/2 watt carbon film will work fine, 1.1K ohm for neck, 2.2K ohm for bridge

Here is one in a S2 SC of mine, looks like 1/2 W, 2.2K ohm, carbon film. (if you have a sharp eye, you can spot the factory wiring mistake on this switch)
48460379297_b1d24623fd_o.jpg

Thanks for your help.

So longer story -

1. I first checked the switch because ONLY the bridge wasn't working - IN 1st Position ONLY .
  2. A couple of taps, then the bridge pickup sounded like it had about 1/4th the output of the neck ....
  3. I opened the guitar up and moved the red volume pot sold knob. I got the pickup back.