Which to pick... SE 245 - Humbuckers or Soapbars?

Which would you choose for modern Christian music?

• SE 245 - Humbuckers

Votes: 10 43.5%
  • SE 245 - Soapbar

Votes: 13 56.5%

• Total voters

Zatx

Zat, Zat, he's our man!
Now before I ask this question I know the most popular response will be "buy them both!" and I'm okay with that .... eventually. So my question should be ... "Which one of these should I pick.... FIRST".

I'm new to electric guitar. In fact I don't even own one yet. This will be my first. I mainly play Bass and and I dabble with an acoustic. My wife and I fell in love with the looks of the SE 245 at our LGS which lead me to research the fantastic reviews of Paul Reed Smith guitars and specifically the SE line due to costs.

Which leads to my question. I love the Single Cut 245 in Tobacco Sunburst and I've decided to go with it. My choices are getting the regular 245 with Humbucker pick-ups or the Soapbar model with P90 pick-ups. From what I've read it comes down to which tone you want, but I really don't know enough about electric guitar tones to make an informed decision. From watching youtube reviews I'm leaning slightly towards the clean tones of the Humbuckers, but not sure which will fit the type of music I play.

I currently play in a Praise & Worship band on Sunday mornings playing today's modern "Christian Music" and dabble with some classic rock, grunge, and alternative on my own. (hey I have an eclectic taste in music)

Based on what I'm playing... which would you choose.... ?

Thanks for your help.

I play in the same "genre" you do. my suggestion would be to get the soapbar. it will give you single coil snap with some real growl when needed. And nothing sounds like a P90 neck for clean...