Where to solder the green wire from the 08 to get the proper tap.

Dr Excess

Hey, as my previous post i have acquired some pickups from a 24 08 for my cu24.

Eventually I'm going to use some pp to simulate the 408 / 24-08 functionality bit for now I'd just like to put them in my cu24 and take advantage of the increased volume in single coil mode.

The wiring for my 24 is here (http://www.prsguitars.com/documents/customs_2017.pdf) but the 24-08 have an additional green wire (which i assume are the extra coils on the single coils).

I'm assuming these need to be made live when the other coil is split.

I'm new to guitar electronics but from the images i see we have a ground side and a hot side. I'm assuming where we ground out using the white cable we also then make live on the adjacent pin using the green?

Another q about prs 5 blade switch, how come it has 9 pairs of pins? They're arranged 5 and then 4, i can't work out why?

Many thanks

I’d have a look at the PG schematic instead of a Custom if you’d like to know more. Given the lack of resistors I think the toggles change the hot instead of grounding a coil like many other split designs. Without adding a PP you’ll have to choose which two split combinations you want and wire them to position 2/4. The 5 way has a common hot/ground output pair followed by 5 positions worth of other hot/ground rails. For example, looking at the switch in position 1 (bridge only) you’ll see it ties the bridge hot to hot rail and bridge ground to ground rail, but leaves the other half of the switch floating in the gap between rails to completely disconnect the neck pickup.

Ok so if I were in your shoes I’d try something like this first. Basic idea is the the PP splits bridge only that you can mix with split/full neck using the 5 way. Resulting tones would be:

PP down:
1 - full bridge
2 - bridge + neck split
3 - bridge + neck
4 - neck split
5 - full neck

PP up:
1 - bridge split
2 - bridge split + neck split
3 - bridge split + neck