When You DON'T Reach For Your PRS, What Do You Reach For?

Hedonismbot

I apologize for nothing!
Wandering through the desert on a horse with no na
As a resident noob here, I am curious. When you want to jam, and you don't grab your PRS, what do you reach for and why? Personally, I reach for my Gibson Traditional Pro Explorer or my Custom-made guitar (made by a local luthier). In the case of the Gibson, it's one of the few guitars I picked up off the wall and felt it played and sounded pretty much perfect right then and there. The custom-job is fairly obvious. Other than that, when I want to work on writing I grab my '95 MIM Strat. Why? I've been writing music on it since I was 14 years old. Best not to disrupt the mojo! :wink:

How about you guys?

Electric or acoustic, I only have one of each :wink:. And that certainly won't change when my Paul's Guitar arrives :D. But seriously, I would grab my SE if there was anything to worry about. At the same time, I want the one that makes me feel the best. So........

I have a Squier Classic Vibe 50s Strat that I've modded with all new hardware and electronics: locking Kluson-style Gotoh tuners, a MIM deluxe trem, all new pots/cap/switch, and noiseless pickups (Dimarzio Area 67, Area 58, and Virtual Vintage Blues). Fenders are great for tinkering with, and the Squier Classic Vibe series is an incredible bang for the buck.

I almost never touch it, though. I only reach for it if I'm really trying to recreate Eric Johnson's tone, or if I want a really pure Strat neck pickup tone (the Area 67 is phenomenal at the neck).

I have a Squier Vintage Modified Jazz bass, one of the original run that has Duncan Designed pickups in it. Another amazing bang for the buck. I use it for all my bass stuff.

I also have a Seagull S12 acoustic, because PRS doesn't make an affordable 12-string acoustic. Sounds fantastic, better even than most high-end 12-strings I've heard.