What's the story with the CE-3 model?

Gnarmageddon

So an online listing popped up in my path (isn't that always the way?) for a PRS C-3 used in the 1200 range. I'm new to PRS and, beyond the basic models and a few artist editions, I really don't have a deep knowledge of lineage, etc. There's so little out there on the web that you'd wonder if it was even a thing. What I can tell is that it's an older model and it looks like the precursor to the ce-24 (which is what I have, my first and only PRS). I noticed in the photos there is no hand-lettered SN - so this is clearly old(er), or a Chi-RS (I'm trying that name out to see if it sticks a la 'Chibson').

So the two questions are one, if anyone's more familiar with this model, the years it was made and where, etc. And the second is if there's any reason it's noteworthy or worth snapping up aside from I love my ce-24 and would love to have a similar model as a backup. I read on this very forum that, when it comes to PRS, older doesn't mean better - and that the quality, design, components, etc., have been steadily improving and evolving (which does make sense).

I really should put my wallet away and keep saving up for "the real one". My wife promised I can order one custom to spec for my 50th birthday (which means we'd need to order it in the coming months), so maybe better to hold off for a PRS that is truly one-of-a-kind. But it's hard to say no with the used market, provided I can verify it's not one of the gazillion counterfeits that are popping up everywhere. Gotta say, that deep deep black with just the mildest hint of curly wood figuring underneath is pretty darn sexy - I'm not personally gaga for the crazy bursts, super burly-curly topwoods, and big colorways.

41111-S000078629-1

41111-S000078629-4

41111-S000078629-5