What are PRS SE Custom 24 differences?

kovacs

Hi folks, my first post here so be nice. I wanted to check out the PRS SE Custom 24 series but most stores around here have limited opening hours and some refuse visits due to the virus (understandably) so I wanted to do some research first.

I've always been a PRS fan since my days as a guitar student around 1990 but never actually owned one. The non-SE range is out of my budget but I see so many rave reviews for the SE that I figured maybe it's time to buy in.

I see that there are many SE Custom 24's available but the prices vary a lot, as much as 50% difference between the cheapest and most expensive SE C24.

I tried to search for "prs se custom 24 variations" etc but find nothing really helpful so I figured I'd ask the experts.

So - What is it that makes various Custom 24s cost differently? What should I look for.

i am a classical guitarist by training (non-professional) and dabble in jazz/fusion.

Thanks.

There's 2 models, basically; the SE Standard 24 and the SE Custom 24.

The Standard is all Mahogany and the Custom has a maple top. It's also worth noting that the Standard is cheaper, but you get what you pay for at this price point. I found the Standard to be noticeably cheaper in feel, to the eye, the plastics, hardware, etc. The custom is nicer quality and it's worth it to pay the extra for that.

I have some SE guitars, they're all maple top versions, I don't own a Standard and I don't want any more cheap gear. For the price of a new Standard, you could get a used Custom. You buy a Standard and don't like it, then it's hard to get any money back.

I'd recommend the Custom maple top. It's nicer quality, you can get one for a good price used.

Thanks!

But my question was specifically about the Custom 24. There are many of them available at different prices, so I was wondering what the different prices reflect.

edit: I plan to buy new in order to support my local dealer.