Want to buy first PRS, who wants to help?

CyFan4036

I’ve been looking through the line up (used and new) and so far I’m leaning toward either an S2 Custom 24 or a CE-24. I have no experience with PRS but I’ve been GASing for about a year now for one. I’m finally getting to a point where I’ll be able to afford one before too long. I like Many types of guitars and don’t get too hung up on neck profiles. I generally make friends with most of them and with PRS’s rep for quality necks I’m sure that’ll be the case here. I don’t mind the three piece neck on the S2 because I don’t think they’d do it if it didn’t work. My only two musts are I want the birds and a figured top. Any helpful insights and opinions would be appreciated.

Excellent. Do the CE models have all USA hardware? I know that the S2’s have some Korean parts that would need to be upgraded whether they are good or not because that’s just me. Lol.

Oh, and I should have mentioned that I have to order online so trying before buying isn’t a viable option.

I think the CE has USA parts, but not sure. The offshore parts are less expensive, but not junk.
I agree with that but I just have this retarded OCD thing that makes me always upgrade offshore hardware. Maybe not the most efficient use of money but you can’t take it with you and I’ve learned a lot doing the upgrades myself.

I’m digging this CE:

giklljgwotebzojm6sbs.jpg
The

all the options you outline are going to have the Korean hardware. but I think PRS has higher standards for their Korean manufacturers as well so PRS Korean hardware is still top-of-the-line,
I played one of these in guitar Center it seemed superb in tone and playability, I ended up with the core McCarty 594, I was just testing out the maple neck mahogany body combo. which is fantastic. the picture you've got there gives me serious gear acquisition syndrome.