Tuning issues

yukongirl

PRS Custom SE 24 with Floyd
Hello out there. I'm a total newbie when it comes to tuning a Floyd. Got my first PRS yesterday, but can't seem to tune it so it stays in tune. I loosened the 2 screws by the nut. Tuned it the regular way. Tightened the screws. Tried to set the intonation. I thought it was right on, but it just won't stay in tune. Is there somebody out there who has experience with tuning a Floyd? I think I need to know the steps involved. Something like Tuning a Floyd for Dummies. Thanks!

First off, welcome aboard!

I’m no Floyd expert, but there are a couple things. First off, and this is true for all teens, make sure your strings are stretched first. That’s very important.

With the Floyd, make sure the strings are locked at the bridge. If it has fine tuners, you’ll want them somewhat centered so you can adjust either way. Then, what I do is keep the strings on blocked at the headstock, tune up all six strings, making multiple passes until all six are close to in tune. A few dives, a few pull ups if you’re not dive only, then retune. After a couple rounds of this, you should be pretty stable. Tune up, lock at the headstock, then check tuning again. If anything has shifted by more than a small amount, unlock and retune. If you’re just a little off, use the fine tuners.

There are some YouTube vids that will walk you through variations of the process.

And if all else fails, change strings. The Floyd takes a little extra TLC, but I haven’t found it to be horribly difficult.

I've never owned a guitar with a FR Trem. I'm pretty sure they're of the devil:D....I know I'm no help. But, welcome to the forum anyway, oh and enjoy the dive bombs and good luck!

Floyd Rose trems are their own special beasties.

There should be 3 screws at the nut on the top, the ones at the back of the neck should not be loosened.