Tube rolling a 2 channel twenty head

cmedcoff

I only recently learned the term "tube rolling"...

I've recently purchase a 2 channel custom 20. I'm looking for a more compressed, more Marshall type of tone. (Please don't tell me to buy a Marshall I've owned and tried many but they have their downsides). I'm hoping that changing, if possible, the 5581's in the 2-channel 20 to EL34 which I'm guessing greatly contributes to that more Marshall type of tone?

I like the 2-channel custom for it's feature set, the fact that it comes in a head (otherwise I might have bought an Archon), it's wattage, weight, etc.

1) is this possible?
2) what is the level of effort e.g. any modifications required

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Links, etc.

Thanks.

First of all, you may know more about this than I do. I'm still learning this stuff too.

Ok, as I understand the 5881, the footprint is the same so you can put in the EL34. It will go in the socket. But biasing must be done. I don't know what the 5881 takes for a bias value, but the EL34's are biased at about 30mV (given that the voltage is really across a 1 ohm resistor). I have swapped EL34's in place of 6L6's in a custom 50 and the rebias is pretty simple since PRS put the terminals and the pot in, very conveniently, at the back of the amp. I don't know if the Custom 20 is the same but one would think they are similar.

First of all, you may know more about this than I do. I'm still learning this stuff too.