trembucker

I picked up a 59/Custom Hybrid trembucker and also had a humbucker laying around, plus there is the one in my Tremonti SE. The center of the PUP poles definitely line up better with the strings on the trembucker. I think it should make a difference but I'm not a mechanical or electrical engineer. I do believe this follows the concept of adding parts and pieces which are less subtractive. Somebody we know talks about that every now and then...

I have three of the same pick ups in three different guitars two of which are trem buckers and one is not. All of the guitars have a tremolo. The one pick up that is my favorite is not a trem bucker!

It should make a difference but I don't think it does.

A trembucker has a longer coil, which means the same number of turns of wire creates a higher resistance rating. Those factors would have an impact on the sound, but I'm sure a smart winder knows how to work with that.

From what I've seen, the USA PRS pickups stick to the classic narrow spacing and that works just fine with their 2 1/16" spaced bridges. I'd be more likely to go for a trembucker on a bridge with a saddle spread of 2 1/8" or wider. The poles create a nice magnetic field, so direct alignment over the poles is unnecessary.

FWIW, the guys over at Bare Knuckle Pickups seem to generally recommend using an F-Spaced bridge humbucker (aka Trembucker) when replacing stock pickups on a trem equipped Custom 24. On the same topic, if someone were to replace their bridge pickup (85/15) on a Custom 24, does anyone know if an F-spaced humbucker will fit in the standard PRS pickup ring designed to work with the current generation of pickups (85/15) with the squared end bobbin covers?