Tonare at 90 Days -- The Wood Doesn't Lie

László

Too Many Notes
The Wood Don't Lie.

Today marks 90 days with my maple Tonare Grand acoustic. I didn't have a chance to go out and buy us little party hats and a cake, but...you know...shoulda, woulda, coulda...

What's that, you say? Big deal? Who cares? Just another guitar?

OK, but that's so wrong.

The guitar is starting to really open up. I've been playing it quite a lot, and there's no question that the tone is becoming more open, woodier, and maybe a little warmer. I know. It's all anecdotal, this opening-up stuff as you play in a guitar. Can't prove it really happens. And so on. I'm no scientist. But I play it every day. I hear it. Subtle picking details are just so easy to pull off. It sounds less tight, even more responsive, and it's still sustaining for seemingly ever. Every note is so clear, strummed chords have amazing string to string definition, and the articulation is really something special. It also stays in tune incredibly well. And there is no mistaking that light picks and strums are a bit louder now. The tone is becoming more complex.

The wood don't lie. The build don't lie. And I don't lie.

This guitar is becoming more wonderful every day. This wood was hand picked by Jack Gretz and Paul R. Smith, and you can hear the results. ;)

Postscript - forgot to mention that as it's opening up, it's becoming more responsive to fingerstyle playing. In other words, this guitar is doing what it's supposed to do, what they tell you in guitar shops, "Just wait and see how it sounds in a few years!" Well, it sounded great out of the box, and after only a few months, it's even better.

I will record something else and post it soon. Meantime, have another look:

Last edited:
Sweet! Glad to hear you are still digging the guitar. I look forward to the clips.

Working on an ad project this week, but I promise I'll get to them right after.