The importance of being able to play with friends

Big Eric Bee

This past weekend, realized again how much fun it can be to really spend time playing music with friends. As some folks have seen through my other posts, have been going through a very rough period with my band. (We're actually a duet which made it more difficult.) Long and short of it is my musical partner for the past 5 years has decided to take a different direction and I'm not included in this venture. And she did not go about this the best way. Will not say more because there are other folks that are being hurt by this change.

So while I have been in a deep funk thinking about what I could have done to change this course, (quick answer - nothing) have started to re-immerse myself in the old time stringband music tradition that I've been playing for the past 20 years. Got back to regular attendance at the local weekly jam. And this past weekend went to a local festival where I spent quite a bit of time playing and talking with my friends. It was a fun experience, because even though I hadn't been a regular, was able to sync my rhythm playing up quick quickly with the fiddlers and banjo players I know well. In fact, am pretty sure I played better than I had in quite some time. Really helped restore the confidence in my playing that had been lacking for the past 6 months or so.

Overall, realized what I had missed in not keeping in closer touch with my friends the past couple of years. With some luck, this is going to get me going back on a good musical journey where I can be proud of what I'm doing again. So make sure you keep in touch with you friends and enjoy making music together when and where you can. Never know when things will change.

Eric,