The 'DUH' Question Thread

rugerpc

A♥ hoards guitars ♥A Soldier 25, DFZ
I have a Demotivator poster :

cluelessnessdemotivator.jpg

But I'm not going to let that stop me, and neither should you.

Do you have a question that you have often wondered about and felt that you might get frowned upon just for asking? Well, this is the thread.

By posting in this thread, you agree not to belittle or denigrate a fellow member or their dumb question. It's ok to kid - but serious answers are actually wanted at some point.

I'll start:

I'm new to guitar. I can make it squeak out a few consecutive notes and even sometimes tease out a recognizable melody. My question is this: Do you really need 24 frets instead of 22 - how often are you right up there in the 24-sphere on any string but the high E?

Last edited:
In a word... No.

Plenty of great guitarists got by with 21 fret Strats and Tele's and 22 fret Gibsons. It's rare that you really, really need those two extra frets. A good example would be when Gilmour used a custom guitar on the third section of the solo from Money. He had a sound in his head and didn't want to compromise so he used a 24 fretter. Same with Gary Moore on The Prophet. Only time it's an issue is if you want to do a bend on the 23rd or 24th fret. Otherwise, if you wan to play that really high e note you can bend to it. Useful to have one but it's not essential.

Even on a 21 fretter there are certain areas that see very little action such as on the low E past, say, the 15th. There are exceptions.

I rarely use the extra notes, but I like the sense of symmetry 24 frets gives my mind when I'm looking at the fretboard. When I was starting out I looked at the fretboard a LOT, and something about being able to see the two octaves of frets helped me memorize scales and modes. Now my preference for 24 freters comes down to comfort, and where the bridge and neck are in relation to my playing posture.