The Chase For 'The Best'

If you ever get to San Francisco, be sure to go to "Tommy's Mexican Restaurant" on 23rd and Geary (NOT Tommy's Joint on Geary and Van Ness). They have the largest selection of 100% Agave tequila (if it does not say 100% agave on the bottle, dump it, that includes Cuervo Gold, the source of many peoples hatred for tequila) in the United States and are the exclusive importer of many of the brands they carry. The proprietor is the tequila consultant for the Belagio hotel and many other high end hotels and restaurants. You can even get a degree in tequila (and it is much more than drink a bunch, there are written tests involved) at Tommy's (I have a Tequila Master degree and was very close to my Ninja degree but failed the written test - I hope to get that degree some day as well as get the degree of Tequila Demi-God)! I have tried over 100 tequilas and my favorite brand overall is El Tesoro, but my favorite sipping tequila I have ever had (I don't "shoot" shots of tequila, nor do I use salt and if I use lime, it is a touch on the rim of the snifter and a floating lime without squeezing it) is "Adictivo"! Appropriately named and the only time I ever was able to try it and buy it was when I was in Cabo San Lucas a few years ago. Brought a bottle home and it lasted I think 2 weeks at best, and that was with a LOT of restraint! For margaritas, my fav is "Centinella Blanco" (always use a blanco aka silver tequila for your margaritas) but it is not available on a retail level in the US (but you can try it at Tommy's as they are the exclusive importer of it in the US). A couple of other really good ones for margaritas are Peligroso, Milagro and Herradura. I have never tried Asomboroso 11yr that I recall (recall can be influenced by a number of issues including age as well as tequila itself) but I will definitely give it a sip if I see it, thanks for the recommendation!
Good to know. Thanks for the tip.