Techniques

Lola

❤️guitar
I decided I needed to open a thread where we can discuss the how’s and why’s of this subject.

I started learning tapping octaves. They sound like absolute crap because I can’t get the physical definition of what a tap is supposed to sound like. It’s very muddied. I don’t know if I am pulling my finger away quick enough. Is my tap accurate. I know it has to touch the fret wire OR maybe it’s just a matter of practice.

Also I started to learn La Grange to kickstart my blues project. At the beginning my upstrums suck along with the muting. I am having trouble with upstrum muting. What could be possibly going wrong that I may or may not be aware of.

Taps don't need to touch the frets. You are tapping at a spot where there is a harmonic on the string. That is what rings out. If you are not getting the ring try moving up or down a little bit to see if that helps. You may not be on the right spot to get it to hit it.

Hammer ons need to touch the frets.

Taps don't need to touch the frets. You are tapping at a spot where there is a harmonic on the string. That is what rings out. If you are not getting the ring try moving up or down a little bit to see if that helps. You may not be on the right spot to get it to hit it.

Hammer ons need to touch the frets.
The harmonic is always slightly closer to the body than the fret for the ones that have a fret reference, like the octaves.

It also helps to have a bit of delay and lots of reverb on because it highlights these kind of harmonics. This I never knew. Have to try experimenting today.

Compression helps as well. As referenced above, start w/octaves - it's an easy find, I think they're about the easiest to produce. But it takes practice. And then, maybe someday... (although these are picked)

And a bit of a lesson from the man himself.

I started hybrid picking and I really like it. It’s because of La Grange that I am learning this. I live the twang. What a powerful technique.

Looky: