Swamp Ash

aduayer

Zomb!e One, DFZ
am I wrong or there's a lot of swamp ash Private Stocks showing up recently ? I just wish PRS had more swamp ash guitars in the core line...
one of my favorite guitars of all time was a Suhr with Swamp Ash body, maple top and maple neck and fingerboard.

Nope in the last year or so there have been a lot more (or at least more than we're seeing?) with swamp ash bodies. Honestly I love it, swamp ash is killer for body wood so I always like seeing it pop up more often! Hopefully we'll see more production models with it, I had to move my Swamp Ash Studio to cover the last part of my CU24 AP, but if I didn't have to sell it I would have gladly kept it as a PRS with a swamp ash body + maple neck sounds glorious! :D

I spec Swamp Ash on quite a few builds... it is a GREAT tonewood and takes finish very well, producing similar color to Finished maple.

White wash Swamp Ash might just be my fave back!!

I have no personal experience with swamp ash. Can someone tell me about the tone compared to mahogany backs? I have noticed many with flame maple necks a la the EXP2013's and wondered if this leads to a brighter sound than I would care for.

I have no personal experience with swamp ash. Can someone tell me about the tone compared to mahogany backs? I have noticed many with flame maple necks a la the EXP2013's and wondered if this leads to a brighter sound than I would care for.
I always feel strange when it comes to talk about the woods and tone, because it always varies and most of the time, I need another guitar to A/B to be sure what I am really feeling.