Setting up PRS Mira 24 fret for slide

ScaryLarry

Hi
I am new to PRS and the group. Just purchased a used Mira 24 fret and can't believe how easy it plays and how it sounds! I can see a new PRS in my future.

I purchased this guitar for slide playing, and would like to put .011s on it and raise the action for slide and fretting. I have never had a guitar with this type of fixed bridge, so an advice would be appreciated.

Regards,
Larry

Hello and welcome. Don't put the .11s on just yet. Measure and make a note of the distance between the top of the twelfth fret and the underside of the first and sixth strings as they are now, unfretted. If you do not have a measuring tool use a coin and see which fret/gap it will slide into comfortably without raising the strings.

Slacken the strings. Take a screwdriver with a nice wide fat blade. There are two mounting bolts on the bridge. Raise the bridge another three to four millimeters by screwing them anti-clockwise. Tune up and try that. Too high or too low? Slacken the strings and adjust. Repeat as needed. It will likely be necessary to adjust the intonation but for now we are trying to determine if you wish to stay with the idea. Want to return the guitar to its original action? Refer to your notes.

Moving up to .11 gauge might dictate that you need to widen the nut slots a little.

It is common to replace the nut with anew that has higher cut slots or shim the existing one but this can create problems when trying to fret the thin end of the neck. It all comes down to what works for you so try this for now.

All is reversible. Have fun.