SE Soapbar ii identification

werty01

Hi,
I'm new to the world of forums, but I'm hoping for a bit of guidance, please.
I'd post a photo relating to my query, but I haven't got round to sorting the software to enable image upload.
Anyway, I've seen an SE Soapbar ii that's fitted with a scratchplate and has 3 rotary knobs rather just 2 which I understand is the norm.
It has the standard individual finger switch.
I appreciate scratchplates can be fitted aftermarket, but where's the extra rotary knob come from?
Showing my ignorance here, but is it some kind of special model maybe?
Thanks very much.

Thanks. Daft question perhaps, but what's the extra rotary knob likely to be for?
To be honest, I'm thinking of purchasing the guitar, but not sure it's wise.

If it is an original Soapy II, it won't have any scratch plate and therefore will not be able to add a third knob. You would not need it for soapbars anyway as you can't get any splits (they are single coils). So someone has done more mods than just adding a scratch plate. After you post a few more times you will be able to post pics, and that is what we will need to be able to help you more.

Thanks. Daft question perhaps, but what's the extra rotary knob likely to be for?
To be honest, I'm thinking of purchasing the guitar, but not sure it's wise.

Pure speculation but it may be a volume so each pickup has its own volume control. Possibly it may be a tone but it seems a guitar player is more likely to add a second volume than a second tone. But I may think that just because I don't really mess with tone knobs very much.

Thanks all for the advice. Yes, I'll post a few more times so that I can upload some pics.

Anything is possible with a few simple tools and determination. All we can do is speculate, so best to ask the seller what has been done to it.

Hi,
Here's the photo.
What do folks think?
Thanks
By6JU6z.jpg

Thanks.
Much appreciated.
I’m guessing these mods will have made it a better guitar.