SE CU24 x S2 Std Satin 24 - (Which Should I Buy?)

SE Custom 24 x S2 Standard 24 Satin

• SE Custom

Votes: 1 9.1%
  • S2 Standard Satin

Votes: 10 90.9%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Leonardo Caruso

Hi guys. Hoping not to create a thread that already exists. Looked in forum and couldn't find the answer to this.

It's my first time at this forum and it will be my first PRS too. And I'm really in need of help to decide if I should buy a SE Custom 24 (2017 Trampas Green) or a S2 Standard 24 Satin Finish (2017).

I have played all the available PRS Models in stores (S2 Custom 22, SE Custom 24, SE Standard) and think all of them are very good, but it's noticeable that the finish quality of SE Std is inferior than the Custom S2 and SE, so I'm going to one of these.

Said that, I've really enjoyed the S2 Custom (but in Brazil, it's price it's close to $4.000 due to import and logistic taxes).

I now have te opportunity to buy either a S2 Standard 24 Satin Dark Cherry Sunburst (for about $999) or a SE Custom 24 Trampas Green (for about $759), but I need to understand some points before (unfortunately I can't go to a store and just test them, I will buy online):

1) Is the fret finish of the S2 Custom better than the S2 Standard (will I notice any difference in quality considering it's the same pattern)?

2) Does the sound of the S2 Custom have great difference to S2 Standard (because of the top wood finish)?

3) Is the fret finish of the S2 Standard better than the SE Custom (will I notice any difference)?

I'm looking for a guitar that feels good (it's not bad finished and do not feel poorly made) and can handle some mods in the future and still be a great guitar.

Don't think about reselling, so this is not a strong argument for me (market value US x Korea). And not worried about the pup's, cause think they are the same and are easy to upgrade.

Hope you can help me: should I get the SE Custom or the S2 Standard Satin?

Thank you, guys.