SE 245 Standard as a first guitar .... and some questions

Michi

Hi All

So I started playing guitar about two month ago with my wife's old concert guitar and decided it's time to get an electric. I fell in love with the looks of the SE 245 Standard and the price seems reasonable for a first guitar.

I've looked at various pictures and videos and sometimes the guitar has an adjustable stoptail, other times I see it with the (one piece) fixed intonation stoptail. Which one is actually on the guitar?

I think I'll order from here but the low price confuses me ;)

https://www.thomann.de/at/prs_se_245_standard_ts.htm

Is that the current version or is this some kind of older version of this guitar? Also, note that the pictures show the adjustable stoptail. Maybe there are different Versions for the EU and US market?

Any ideas or comments on that would be appreciated.

Many Thanks!

This is a guitar made to PRS specifications in Indonesia. That isn't to say it's a bad guitar .... many of the members here who have "core" PRS guitars (much more expensive, made in the US) also have SE guitars, and if you check the forum messages you will see everyone's experiences.

I have an SE 277 baritone that I like quite a bit.

My opinion is that the SE versions of PRS guitars offer very good value and play-ability and could make a great guitar for you!

I'll mention member @Alnus Rubra who has a SE 245

Thanks for your replies! Just to be sure ... I'm talking about the SE 245 Standard which seems to be a cheaper Version of the SE 245.

and different origin, right? Korea vs. Indonesia ... no idea if that makes a real difference.
nope both guitars are going through the same QC process. the normal SE will sound a bit brighter than the standard tho due to the maple top.

and different origin, right? Korea vs. Indonesia ... no idea if that makes a real difference.