se 245 controls

Patrick Brewster

New to forum so hello to everyone! Just bought a used se245 and I don't understand the controls. The only guitar I've owned is a strat so I'm new to the LP style. Can you tell me what the three positions of the selector switch are, and how it changes how the volume controls work?? Does it also change the way the tone control works? I really feel dumb having to ask.

Last edited:
Hi Patrick,

Mine is a 2015 SE 245 Standard. Selector switch position closest to the neck (down) is bridge pup only, middle is both pups, away from the neck (up) is neck pup only. In the middle position, you can use the 2 volume controls to blend the pups, more neck, more bridge, or both full volume. Adjust each pup tone control to taste. With the pup selector switch in the middle position, I like the bridge volume at 10 and the neck volume at about 7.

46892068775_58ab0b4cac_o.jpg

Last edited:
:mad: For some strange reason, I am having trouble adding this to my post above:

The PRS knob layout is different than a LP, but the selector switch operation is the same as a LP. To me, the PRS knob layout is more intuitive.

LP knob layout:

46892356335_3b02703636_o.jpg

Last edited:
Hi Patrick,

Mine is a 2015 SE 245 Standard. Selector switch position closest to the neck (down) is bridge pup only, middle is both pups, away from the neck (up) is neck pup only. In the middle position, you can use the 2 volume controls to blend the pups, more neck, more bridge, or both full volume. Adjust each pup tone control to taste. With the pup selector switch in the middle position, I like the bridge volume at 10 and the neck volume at about 7.

46892068775_58ab0b4cac_o.jpg

And note that the volume controls are coupled in the middle position. This means that turning one volume all the way down cancels the whole signal. But it also means there is some fun interactivity that gives you different sounds.

Welcome Patrick, congratulations on your NGD