Scoring you own funeral

veinbuster

Zombie Three, DFZ
Two threads headed me in this direction: the writing one and the played this week one.

And, a good friend's mom is literally on her death bed.

So I sat down and recorded a quick version of a song I have always liked, but never really listened beyond the vocals - which are captivating. Guitar was the highlight of last week in the 'what are you playing' thread.

Then I started contemplating what might be good for myself. Not that I expect to know or care after I'm dead, but every choice I make in advance has potential to make the whole thing easier for whoever is left behind. I could be wrong though. Putting together a slide show with music for my wife was good therapy.

Anyway, I started playing the mood that I thought would be appropriate and may formalize that into a soundtrack for visuals I have already gathered. I'm contemplating two different collections. One somber and thoughtful. One more upbeat and fun - wakeish if you like.

Feel free to tell me its a terrible idea. Or too morbid.

I've had the same thought over the years, but ultimately have decided I don't really care to have a funeral.

But if I did, I could do worse than having these played. (There are also more downbeat songs I'd want, but as you said, I won't be there.)

Two threads headed me in this direction: the writing one and the played this week one.

And, a good friend's mom is literally on her death bed.

So I sat down and recorded a quick version of a song I have always liked, but never really listened beyond the vocals - which are captivating. Guitar was the highlight of last week in the 'what are you playing' thread.

Then I started contemplating what might be good for myself. Not that I expect to know or care after I'm dead, but every choice I make in advance has potential to make the whole thing easier for whoever is left behind. I could be wrong though. Putting together a slide show with music for my wife was good therapy.