SC 245 Vs. SC58 Vs. SC250 Vs. single cut 1990s

bob lesko

Hello, I am new to this, Just picked up my first sc245 a while back and am now selling 2 GLPs to buy another I think I have become a PRS addict. That said I was wondering if anyone has some knowledge to share about the different single cut models. I should state that I love the two piece bridge, but that is not a deciding factor by itself. I have seen a PRS sc58 and a sc245 both having the same pick ups (57/08) do you think the is a build difference? Also where do the SC 250 and just the "single cut (1990s) stand in the mix.
I know it is a pretty broad question but any information would be great.

Having owned all of these models over the years, the 2-piece bridge sounds different, and a bit more vintage, than the single piece bridge.

The 24.5 inch scale length on the 245 sounds a bit different from the 25" scale length, too.

As will the SC 594 scale length.

If your SC245 has 57/08's in it, they were added after retail sale. Original 245's had 245 pickups in it. These were the same as Mira pups but covered. They were a big improvement from older generation pups (not talking about the 7's, I love 7's), but were overshadowed by the impressive 57/08's when they came out soon after.

Next, there were no 1990 era SC's. They went from 2000 - 2004ish. Then the G lawsuit stopped them from 2005 - 2006. They picked up again in 2006 and went until the SC245 and SC250 split in 2007ish. The models mushroomed into SC58's, the stripped 58, the Modern Eagle SC, the SC trem, the Satin SC's, and I'm probably forgetting more. In general I'd say the biggest difference, at least for me, is the weight. the 1st gen SC's are heavier then the later models. The pups are different, but I like most all the flavors of pups. The more recent ones have binding. I prefer non-binding on PRSi.