S2 maccarty 594, differences

cristianopoli

Hallo to everybody.
I would like to buy my first PRS and I'm studying the new s2 McCarty 594.

Could help me to understand the differences of the 3 model, particularly between "thinline" and the other two models?

There are big sound, sustain, volume differences?
Thanks!!
Cristiano

Hallo to everybody.
I would like to buy my first PRS and I'm studying the new s2 McCarty 594.

Could help me to understand the differences of the 3 model, particularly between "thinline" and the other two models?

There are big sound, sustain, volume differences?
Thanks!!
Cristiano

There is little difference between the McCarty 594 and the Single Cut - both very similar construction and the main difference is body shape. The SC does have a slight difference because it has a 'chunk' of wood attached to the top of the neck that the double cut doesn't.

The thinline, as the name suggests, is a thinner body version but also missing the Maple cap - its an all-mahogany body. It also has the 3 way toggle in a different position too. The neck carve is different too - a pattern thin neck - not as thick as the Pattern Vintage or the same asymmetrical carve. I think its more a different instrument than the others although still has a lot in common.

If you are looking to buy, I would say the regular and single-cut version is more down to body shape preference and the thinline is for those that prefer a different neck and thinner body. PRS have done a video on all 3 so its up to you to decide if you prefer (or can hear) any tonal differences...

Does anyone know if the Singlecut S2 594 is thicker than the regular S2’s? I was drooling on one for sale, and from the angle photos It looks to be thicker. Sean?

There’s a couple of videos by Bryan Ewald on the PRS YT site, that may help if you haven’t already seen them.

There's a shootout video posted in this thread:

https://forums.prsguitars.com/threads/s2-594-“shootout”.42942/