Riddle me this…MT15 issue

I’ve tried searching for this problem and haven’t found any info.

I usually leave my MT15 on half power setting, all of the sudden the sounds started cutting in and out and making crackling noises/sound cutting in and out etc..

After some research I decided to try swapping a new 12ax7 into each position at a time starting with v1. Didn’t work.

I switched the amp to full power and it works normal.

Anyone have any ideas what could be causing this issue on only the half power setting?

Wonky power tube.
Thanks for the help. This is my first tube amp and I’m still learning.

Of course, it’s the one thing I didn’t try lol.

Can you recommend a particular brand? Affordable but still decent?

Also do you think I should do an exact replacement of the 5881, or should I try 6L6 instead?

Do you have to run the amp at half power? 99% of tube amp issues are tubes or fuses. If your tubes are not shot I would simply leave them alone. All tubes right now are expensive and are a crap shoot on how long a particular tube will last. There are so many variables. Just like light bulbs, there is no guarantee how long they will last and if the "set" of tubes will last equally from tube to tube within the set.