Quilted Maple Top Worship!

Maertl513

Sherlock 513
(A few sentences as a statement: Friday 13th lived up to one's name. Of course all the people who are suffering from this brutal act of crime/terrorism in Paris deserve our and my deep solicitousness. To all the guys in service: Defeat the network! Defeat the device!)

Aswell on Friday 13th I visited PRS´ homepage: I´m sad, realizing that quilted maple is currently no option anymore (I hope only for a certain time.) according to the specs of core models and AP options regarding top wood grain.
PSF depicted some guitars with quilted parts, but it seems to me, that the stockpiles have been consumed on one hand side, but the wood market is supposed to be snapped up concerning this style of grain on the other hand side.
Quilted grain is a result of misgrowth of wood. Therefore supply is limited.

I started playing electrics in 1992. Soon after sneaking into available guitar mags, my eyes remained on a PRS advertise.
I ordered a catalogue at the local distributor. I felt in love with quilted tops.
Once I would procure a PRS, it would have a quilted maple top. Nearly 20 years later this day occured in 2011.

Though there are very nice flamed tops outside, but I´m slightly addicted to quilted ones. I hope PRS will refuel the stock with blanks of quilted maple soon to allow future owners of Core or AP this option again.

Let´s enjoy quilted maple to the full as an act of bridging of a gap (regardless how long it will last when quilted maple tops are offered again).
Feel free supporting by uploading approriate pics of your instruments with quilt!