PRS Paul's Guitar - wanting to lower the action

Aaron B

Hey guys! my first post and I wanted to ask about lowering the action on the Paul's Edition SE. Because I've never done this on any guitar before. But also, the bridge is a bit different than the usual SE, and I can't find a video about it

I'd post pictures but I'm not allowed yet. I'm sure someone knows what the bridge looks like lol

Anyways, the monster bridge screws, I assume are how we're lowering it. I'd measure each side to make sure they're even. My main question is will I need to drop the pickups down the same amount? I would imagine they'd create a decent bit of feedback / general noise if I didn't. Also, do I need to loosen / take my strings off before I tackle this?

These are probably basic questions but I don't wanna mess up my brand new guitar and then be unable to get it back to where it is now if I don't like the changes I make. Thanks in advance!

Several part answer:

1. If you're lowering the bridge studs to lower the action, then yes, you need to loosen the strings so there's no tension on the bridge.
  2. Before you lower the bridge, check the neck relief. Your issue may be that there's too much relief, not that the bridge is too high. A quick turn of the truss rod may be all you need.
  3. Another before you lower the bridge, play the guitar and try to lock that tone in your head if you're happy with how it sounds. Make a recording if you can. Then, if you do lower the bridge, you can adjust the pickups as needed to get back to that tone. You may like the sound w/the pickups a little closer or a little further than they are now. It's best if you can measure the distance, but your ears should be your ultimate guide.
Honestly, I'd turn the truss rod a bit first - an eighth to a quarter turn. Very easy to reverse, especially if you note where you start from. Make sure you give it a little time to settle in.