PRS Modern Eagle Quatro(?)

django49

I may have a chance to pick one up at what (I suppose) is a fair price. Are these still on the "highly desirable" list? Or has time marched on? I know the 53/10s, generally, get favorable comments.

Do you highly desire it? If so then who gives a crap who else wants one or doesn't....

Reactions: LJD
If it calls you by your secret name, then it's desirable.

I got a Quatro a few years ago and it took me weeks to get used to it. It's a very different ride. It was calling my name, but in a different language, and at first I didn't understand it. I've been playing Hollowbodies and McCartys for many years.

The MEQ's rosewood neck makes a big difference. Astonishing clarity and piano-like lows on the bottom end into a big clean amp. Brilliant glassy highs on the top. Sustain for days. Lightning attack, zero bloom.

I found it was not a "strummy" rhythm guitar. Too much sustain, all the notes and overtones seemed to fight each other. Then I started fingerpicking and separating all the notes: astonishing clarity and voicing. Partial chords, single-note lines, especially into loud clean amps: I've never heard such immediate clarity. I even took it down to D Standard tuning (with .011s) and it maintained its clarity.

I met PRSH at a local appearance and he concurred with me on the clarity and attack. He added that the 53/10s are an excellent combination for the rosewood neck. I have to agree.

I can post some professional pictures of my MEQ, but then you'd be drooling over its looks and not its voice. It's flawless, of course, but that's what PRS does with all its guitars.

=K