prs mcCarty

bill cowan

Hi,I am a newbie and i am picking up my McCarty on monday.Changing from Les Paul it does'nt suit me, can't wait.What do you think about it 2004 model

The McCarty is going to be far more comfortable than the Les Paul. Enough so that there are good odds you’ll find yourself playing longer before you put it down.
I can’t comment on 2004 in particular but my 1996 and 2009 are great guitars. The 2004 isn’t going to be substantially different - pickups, maybe the bridge and switching but it is a good platform whatever bits are on it.

My McCarty was a big ergonomic upgrade from my Les Paul.

That said, just don't expect the McCarty to sound like a Les Paul. It gets in the same area, but at the end of the day they each have their own thing going on.

If you’re stepping away from a full-weight, non-chambered Les Paul, the comfort difference will be substantial. Be sure to post pics and your first impressions!

My McCarty was a big ergonomic upgrade from my Les Paul.

That said, just don't expect the McCarty to sound like a Les Paul. It gets in the same area, but at the end of the day they each have their own thing going on.
The Les Paul is not for sale,just need something else :)

I have a 2000 Mccarty. I love the fat neck but I grew tired of the Mccarty bridge pickup.

I had 5909s in it for a while and they sounded really good but then I used it in D and drop C tuning so I tried M pickups and they sounded good as well. Stuck an HFS in it for kicks. Typically dislike that pickup but it sounded surprisingly good in low tunings.

It's tuned to Eb now with 8515s and it is fabulous. Put a prs adjustable bridge and locking posts plus rosewood blingy stuff.

Killer guitar.

The Les Paul is not for sale,just need something else :)

I haven't sold my Les Paul either. It's a totally different vibe for sure.