PRS Cabinet Speaker Swap

WeFixFlats

Respect The Clave
Having three(3) cabinets all loaded with Celestion Vintage 30's was bugging me. So I decided to upgrade the older of the three so the great and powerful Mesa 100 watt(4x6L6) Lonestar(always run it in 100 watt mode) head would have something different(American Tone) to drive. And after researching for price, performance and company we choose a pair of the WGS 12" G12C/S. Wow. Now it's like I have a 'Super Bandmaster' cabinet. Loud, clean and California.

E6OvxC0.jpg

RyTfm9P.jpg

Here's 'the trick' to make it super easy on the installation. I ordered, in advance, a new cabinet speaker wiring harness from Mojotone. So you simply lift out the original pair, and install the new pair(wired up), screw them in, attach the jack to the backpanel and test. Done. We'll spot solder the speaker harness tabs/leads later.

Last edited:
How do the speakers sound in the cab?

First of all, my ears were originally tuned to Jensen/Eminence speakers. So using the Petaluma amp's clean channel(100 watt setting/Tweed switch), with gain and master at Noon(fairly loud btw), this pair of speakers sound like those classic makes. We played the usual 'cowboy chords' and barre chords up the neck too. Then, as comparison, we plugged in my other PRS cabinet loaded with Celestion Vintage 30's. Those speakers seem, to my untrained ear, to have a little or slight more 'hair'(if that's a thing) around the chords. The WGS speakers seem to be a little 'cleaner'. I suppose if you had a recording studio with high end mikes, etc, the differences would be more audible and having a 2nd set of ears wouldn't hurt either. No regrets swapping the original V30's out for this new pair, especially for the $$$ and the very little time it took to get the swap done.

Last edited: