Prs archon ringy noise

Hm2city

Hey guys my prs archon 100 makes a ringy noise only in gain channel. Out of nowhere after 5-6 mths of use it has started to make the noise. I was told it might be the v2 or v3 preamp tubes so I changed it. Bought the tubes from sweetwater also bought the amp from sweetwater. It still makes noise. I also tried by directly plugging the guitar into return of fx loop it made the noise again. But while in clean channel with both loop on and off it doesn’t make any ringy noise. It just makes the ringy noise in gain channel even if i dont use the loop at all.and also it makes noise if i just use the return of fx loop. Hope this makes sense i have contacted the guys from prs but just wanted to know what you guys think. Btw i am not a tube amp pro tech or anything like that i have very little knowledge about the technicality of tubes and tube amps. Simply put i am a dummy with an amazing amp

Sounds like one of the preamp tubes for the gain channel. Power up and tap them lightly with a pencil and the one that responds to the tapping is the one about to crap out.

Sounds like one of the preamp tubes for the gain channel. Power up and tap them lightly with a pencil and the one that responds to the tapping is the one about to crap out.
I put some new jj12ax7 yesterday but i’ll try tapping the tubes anyway..thanks for the tip

Do i plug the guitar or not while doing this?

Do i plug the guitar or not while doing this?
You can but you don't have to either. You just want to hear if the tube makes a rumbly noise when tapped. There are 4 preamp tubes (I believe) two of them are for the clean channel and two more added for the gain channel. You can find the weak one by tapping and listening to the speaker. The one that sounds like marbles rolling around inside is the weak one.