Potential New PRS Owner - Advice Needed

DS_180

Hi guys, 1st post and long-time lurker here. I have the opportunity to purchase a used 2005 SC245 goldtop. From what I was told and from given pictures, the guitar is in excellent condition: no dings or scratches, little fret wear, etc. I have little experience with this model; does the guitar look like a worthy purchase? What other things should I be looking for (where it's an '05). Any comments/advice would be appreciated.

I made a Photobucket album with pictures of the guitar: http://smg.photobucket.com/user/Cool_Dave98/library/PRS SC245

Thank you!

Last edited:
We can't (per forum rules) help you with the price.

But, that is a nice looking guitar - great grain on the body back....

She's a beaut, Clark!

The serial number will indicate the year. If I remember correctly, the SC245 was not in production until 2007. Prior to that they made the Singlecut, which is similar but 25" scale. But yeah, the serial # is your best bet.

The classic Singlecut is a super-nice guitar, 25" scale length like most PRSes, and lots of power. I had one around that time. The pickups are really good ones that most SC players have liked a lot.

It's a great guitar, and its tone controls are capable of great nuance. Roll the treble off the neck pickup, and it's a great jazz guitar, and a great "woman tone," crank the bridge pickup and it rocks out like crazy.

I'd recommend it to anyone.

She's a beaut, Clark!

The serial number will indicate the year. If I remember correctly, the SC245 was not in production until 2007. Prior to that they made the Singlecut, which is similar but 25" scale. But yeah, the serial # is your best bet.

Agreed. A Google search doesn't find any SC245's earlier than 2007. Plus it would have "SC245" on the truss rod cover.