Please help ID my CU24

blackened302

Hi all!

I'm new to this forum but not new to PRS guitars. I've had quite a few, mostly SEs, over the last few years and they are by far my guitars of choice!

I acquired this CU24 about a year or so ago and would love to know more about it.

10247401_765687250117935_3617993320739046896_n.jpg

10968022_922934424393216_1434154483_n.jpg

10965814_922934371059888_2015303780_n.jpg

The serial says it's a 2005 and it has a "20th" truss rod cover but I'm not sure if it is a true 20th anniversary. I traded a USA Stratocaster for this guitar and the owner claimed it was a one-off, though I doubt that. I did not receive any case candy with the trade, unfortunately.

Obviously, it's a one-piece mahogany body and no maple top. I've never seen another PRS like it and I've not been able to find any info other than 2005 Custom 24.

I'd appreciate any insight anyone can offer!

-Paul

Last edited:
I'm not a huge expert but I'll try lol

20th anniversary had birds and if it was a private stock, it'd be a 10 top . The number 10 would be stamped on the headstock. Probably just a 20th anniversary truss rod cover. Easiest way to find something out is, put the neck pickup and look at the mod cat. Prs customer service could really open the door on what you want to know.
A guess is hfs pickups ....

One thing that sends a red flag ...the owl on the back of the headstock...I've never seen that before either.

Prs did make a cu24 that was all mahogany, I do remember that . I almost traded for one lol

Signs point to it being a 2005 Standard 24. There wasn't a "25th Anniversary Guitar" per se. The special birds were an option and I think all guitars had the "25th" truss rod cover.

They did do some satin finished Standard models around that time, but I don't remember years or if it was in addition to, or replacement for, the gloss models.