Pickup swap

Boss

Hi all,

Been considering this as an option but wanted feedback because I've never done something like that before.

The base guitar in question is a Tremonti, which is great and handles gain very well. Then I wanted some variety so I got a DGT, and that's superb, it definitely keeps GAS under control. Now I'm wanting more and been considering a variety of PRS' (at the top of the list there's the P22/P22 Trem, Signature Limited, SC58/SC245).

Never tried the 57/08 or the 59/09 or the 408. I know the 408 would require a whole new guitar but a new guitar is inevitable because I like my Tremonti and DGT as is.

Has anyone experimented with swapping pickups in a Tremonti (or other Singlecut/Doublecut models) for 57/08, 59/09 even DGTs, or any other pickups for that matter?

Also, how different are the DGT to the 57/08 too please?

Thanks people

I'm guessing the DGTs are hotter than the 57/08. the 59/09 is definitely hotter than 57/08 from what i know. I don't see any DGTs in the PRS shop anymore, so maybe the 59/09 is the way to go unless you want to find some used DGTs :) Never played em, only know em from the spec sheets and videos, so I'd better let the owners speak! I wouldn't put those relatively lower output pickups in a Tremonti though, i personally think they're more suited to the likes of McCarty/SC 245. Maybe you can experiment a little bit, throw in the 59/09 or 57/08, you might like it if you're after lower gain stuff, but that's not to say those two can't handle gain well! They just do things in a different way ;)

In my experience, the differences between the 5708 and 5909 are more subtle. Definitely different, but not a crazy, drastic difference. FWIW, I do not have any squabbin 5909s, which may be a hair hotter...I can't remember what I measured my 5909s at. I wanna say the DGTs are in the 5909 camp as well if memory serves. Can't comment on any of those pickups in a Tremonti though.