Paint defect on brand new Mark Holcomb sig

Brae

Hey guys, i just bought a brand new Mark Holcomb SE 6 online and got it today and noticed theres a slight defect in the paint on the body, its about 15-20cm of bare wood near the strap hook on the edge of the guitar, looks like some of the paint came off when they polished it (probably too much pressure or didnt clean it properly before paint). Im wondering if this is a regular thing as im pretty new to guitars.
So far ive had bad luck with finishes on brand new guitars.

My first guitar was a schecter omen elite 6 which also had some pretty major defects in the finish.
I dont know if i should send it back for a replacement or not.. it doesnt look as bad in a photo.

Its the indonesian model with the black nut
20230104-001502.jpg

It's not the norm, and you're right - it doesn't look horrible in the pics.

There are two questions you have to answer - one, is this going to bug you as long as you own the guitar? Can you treat it like a ding and ignore it, or are you going to think about it every time you think about the guitar? And two, how much do you like this particular guitar? Not the model, this actual guitar. If you feel like this is THE ONE, that it's got magic in it, then you have to balance that against the first question. If you don't think it's particularly magical (not that it's bad, just that it's not on that magical level), then swapping it becomes much easier.

Unfortunately, defects, errors in procedure, and malfunctioning parts can come at all levels and price-points of any product, especially things like guitars that go through so many processes before finally being sold to consumers.