Old SE Custom - Want to split coils like new SE Custom

RallyFanatic

Perpetual musical mid-life crisis
Hello all,

I'm new to PRS, been playing a tele for a few years now. Recently my friend sold me his used SE Custom for a song and dance. After some minor pickup height adjustments, I'm really enjoying this. What I would really like to do, however, is be able to use the push/pull pot and split the coils like the new SE Custom. I know the standard SE pups (at least my generation, which still has the dot inlays and not the birds) won't split. So...what do I need to transform my SE into a newer version? Is it as simple as new pups and a new tone pot? I thought I read somewhere that there is something else built-in with the PRS's as well.

Thanks!

Well I wouldn't say it's that simple. I'd say that's probably your worst case or most difficult?
I think you can make pretty much any doublecoil humbucker split but dropping-in a new harness and pups might be easier. Meh...probably not....carry-on.

I've never used a soldering iron, however I have a friend that did electronics work on helicopters for the Marines for years, so a guitar shouldn't be too difficult for him. I play the blues and classic rock, and occasionally like to dabble in some jazz. My fear is that my existing pups won't be up to the task, but in doing some research they don't seem to be much different from the pups in the newer SE Customs.

This is how you would need to modify the pickup. No guarantees here, do this at your own risk, I am not responsible, etc. I would never attempt this on a vintage or expensive humbucker, but if you screw up a SE pickup you can usually pick up another one used for $15-20. To modify the existing pickups for coil splitting:

Remove the pickup from the guitar. The four screws on the back of the pickup have to come out.

IMG_20120625_124634.jpg

This is what the inside of the pickup looks like:

IMG_20120625_124849.jpg