NGD: Alex Lifeson signature electric!

Sage

While you were partying I studied the guitar.
That is, if Alex Lifeson had a PRS signature electric, this would be it. In 1990, in the middle of Rush's Presto tour, Lifeson reportedly broke the headstock off the main guitar he was using at the time, a superstrat made by Signature Guitars, exactly one day before that company went out of business. Left without a replacement, he picked up several PRS guitars over the course of the next year. Because he favored bolt-on necks, he chose the lower-priced CE 24 models. He used them to finish the Presto tour, as well as for the recording and touring of Roll The Bones, Counterparts, and Test For Echo, as well as his solo effort, Victor.

Those albums, in particular Counterparts, mark Rush's return to a more guitar-driven sound, slowly stepping away from the synth-driven work they put out in the 80s. This was also the time I discovered the band and became a fan; Counterparts was the first album released after I started listening to them, and to this day I consider that album to have some of the best guitar tones he ever got.

The CE 24 was originally made of alder, but in mid-1994 the wood was changed to mahogany, probably because the use of alder -- a domestic wood -- was not as cost-effective as originally thought. All of Lifeson's CE 24s were built before 1991, which means they would have been made before that change. And with the exception of a custom one-off with a single-coil bridge route (the pickup was transplanted from the aforementioned broken predecessor), Lifeson's CE 24s were all equipped with HFS and Vintage Bass pickups. So these specs were only available for a few years in the early 90s, making these guitars difficult to find.