newb here buying first and only guitar to learn to play. SE CU 24 VS SE 245

bob13bob

Don't flame me too hard for this. I'm total newb here buying first and only guitar to learn to play. I've read all relevant threads on here I could find. Will learn by playing rocksmith and youtube videos. I ran across PRS SE by reading how good value they are, and hearing some sound comparisons. I'm considering a used 2012+ se 24 (come with coil split) vs a se 245, any others?

I have a small space, and would get enough guitar to start then have to upgrade later. If I end up not using, I'll sell it.

relevant thread:
http://prsguitars.com/forum/showthread.php?1825-se-245-vs-custom-24-sehttp://prsguitars.com/forum/showthread.php?1825-se-245-vs-custom-24-se

Few questions/issues:
I know they are different scale, but I have no idea how that impacts me.
Since its my only guitar, se 24 with coil split would be more versatile?
Here’s Rocksmith’s playlist 2014 + DLC. I’ve read comments on here that se 24 sound is more modern, would that fit better?.
http://rocksmith.ubi.com/rocksmith/en-us/music/http://rocksmith.ubi.com/rocksmith/en-us/music/
I've heard a lot of good things about the stop tail tone, but se 24 is tremolo only.
Since I'm buying used, would the stop tail 245 be a safer purchase for someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing (but willing to learn).
Is buying used something a newbie should avoid? Can't tell if it's screwed up.

There is Drop D in rocksmith, this review says fixed bridge (i assume = stop tail) guitars work better with it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=XR-kNFZPdYs#t=221http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=XR-kNFZPdYs#t=221

Last edited:
The scale length is a minor issue, especially since you've never gotten used to one or the other, unless you have very small hands where the shorter scale length might be something of an easier thing.