New to PRS, need help! Don't want to get ripped off.

woodstock1975

Hi guys, or girls!

I'm looking at buying a used PRS, but i'm so leery about buying a fake. Someone is trying to sell me a 2011 custom 24. I put a small down payment on it already to hold it. The serial number seems to check out at 11 177792. But this 2011 doesn't have a "blade switch". And the "custom" rod cover seems different from what i've seen online. Here's the link to the add. Let me know your thoughts.

http://toronto.kijiji.ca/c-buy-and-...ustom-24-Guitar-Half-Price-W0QQAdIdZ412499313

I'd have to drive 4 hours to pick it up, so obviously i don't want to waste my time.

Thx for checking this out!

Al

Tuners are wrong, case is wrong, truss rod cover is wrong. With that inlay signature, it should be an artist Package, but it doesn't look like one...

No me gusto...

Jamie

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination but that whole guitar looks "wrong" to me; I'd avoid. (Sorry :()

Almost certainly a Chinese fake, bought for no more than $300 - 400 and sold to you at 'Half Price'. Don't buy it!!!

Plenty things look wrong as mentioned. Knobs aren't quite in the right position. The recess for the selector switch is wonky, etc... Plus the price... 'Too good to be true'...

Had a quick search on Google and it's easy to find PRS fakes from China. Found this one which isn't a million miles away from the one in the ad save a couple of things.

8170900066_3201a11401_b.jpg

Don't waste your time on this as you'll get your fingers burned.

Thanks!!

Almost certainly a Chinese fake, bought for no more than $300 - 400 and sold to you at 'Half Price'. Don't buy it!!!

Plenty things look wrong as mentioned. Knobs aren't quite in the right position. The recess for the selector switch is wonky, etc... Plus the price... 'Too good to be true'...