New to PRS. Couple of questions.

Hi.

I picked up my first PRS yesterday (a McCarty). I've been avoiding them for years (blame nü-metal). So far I'm really happy with my decision. I've been using Les Pauls for the last 12 years and was looking for something a little different, but not too different. A "little hotter and with more clarity". I think I found it.

It's a bit weird at times because it has so much of the sound yet lacks the top end bite. I'm constantly reaching for the tone knob thinking I've got it rolled off when it's already full up. The trade off is that the McCarty isn't giving me any of the high gain "fizz" I get with a Les Paul, thus I'm getting a smoother sound that I really like. Overall it seems a bit more focused... not quite as much top or bottom end, smoother and tighter, and my effects seem to behave better because of it.

Additionally, I'm surprised at the coil splits. I've had these a few times in the past on different guitars, but found them underwhelming and never used them. On this guitar however the split sounds are really good and in the short time I've had it I find myself reaching for them quite a bit. Despite my choice of amp I work my volume/tone knobs at lot and go for a vintage-meets-modern sort of vibe, and having access to these lower output sounds without switching guitars is really nice.

So... questions:

Headstock - Is it safe to put a McCarty in a gig bag? I've heard PRS aren't as prone to headstock breakage as Gibson, but I want to make sure.

Straplocks - I'm used to putting strap locks on my guitars, but the stock PRS oversized pins seem secure enough. Is it safe to say that those pins combined with a stiff leather strap will be adequate? Or am I asking for trouble by not converting to Schallers?

Pickups - I like the stock pickups and don't plan on changing them (I want this guitar to sound like a PRS, not force it to be something it isn't); but, do most of you adjust the screw heights or leave them flat?