New to acoustics Advice ?

Frank McNerney

Shoitza
I have been playing for 2 years Strictly Prs electrics. I suck but it’s a blast. I have an old fender acoustic I inherited. Been trying to play it and WTF. !! Totally awkward Can’t really get comfortable holding it. Hard to see strings below fret 3 Etc. Etc. Almost like a different instrument from the electric Setup is good.
So I’m hoping this is just a matter of putting in the time and eventually things will come around. What do you think? Any tips ?
FYI. I went to. A store today and played a bunch of acoustics to see what felt good.
Played the SE A40. Really nice sound and of course beauteous like you expect from. Prs. It felt a lot better than the fender but still same awkwardness A couple of Taylor’s felt slightly better to
Me but the sound was nowhere near the warmth of the A40. IMO
Thanks in advance to anyone who responds!

Hey Frank! If you've only ever played electrics, and only PRS at that, you're going to have some adjusting to do.

There's a world of difference between the two. Everything from setup, strings, neck profile, nut width, scale length, intonation, action, etc; they're all completely different. Muting, 2-3 point hold, balance, etc. It takes me a few minutes to go from my PRS to a Gibson/Fender, etc. It take a mental shift to go from an electric to acoustic.

Many people (myself included) feel that electrics are just EASIER to play than acoustics. If you pick up an acoustic and feel like a newbie all over again, don't worry - that's normal. :D
I will say, after running exercises on an acoustic for a while, everything is just FASTER and SIMPLER when I go back to my electric.

Hey Frank! If you've only ever played electrics, and only PRS at that, you're going to have some adjusting to do.