New member, new PRS CE24

Vader

Hello everyone!

I've been playing guitar for 32 of my 44 years, mostly heavy metal. I've owned lots of guitars in that time, including several PRS SE Paul Allender models. I took lessons from Paul several years ago and I still have a Ghost Burst PA SE. I really like nice guitars and I love black, red and silverburst style finishes.

For the last few months I was planning on getting a new guitar but I was kinda stuck as to what I really wanted. I already have a Les Paul and Explorer that I like and a couple of Jacksons. While I was shopping around online I came across a 2019 CE24 in solid gloss black with a satin black finished neck. Yes! This could be it!

Never having owned a USA PRS, I reached out to a friend in California (I'm in Mississippi) for his advice. He told me he wasn't a huge PRS fan but he knew somebody who works at the PTC and he asked if I wanted to get hooked up with him to answer any questions I had. Through the power of the internet I met James 'Skitchy' Zimmers who works at the PTC. He answered my questions and we hit it off pretty well.

I bought the guitar and it's beautiful! I changed the cream pickup rings and toggle switch to have an all black look. The neck on this guitar is so straight and true it's crazy. I've owned custom shop guitars that didn't have necks and fretwork this true. I have the action on the high e set so low it will hold a .88 Dunlop Tortex at the 12th marker and the guitar will still bend and not fret out anywhere. Normally I'll have to level and dress the frets on any guitar I get (even new ones) to satisfy my action and playability requirements. Not this CE24! It's great. I'm sold on the USA PRS line.

Sorry that I can't provide pics yet. This is my first post. I will as soon as I can though.