Neunaber Pedals in Archon Effects Loop

Charles Wong

Hello! Newbie here. I am a very happy owner of the Archon 50 combo since Jan this year. I have recently acquired two Neunaber pedals (Wet Reverb and Chroma/Chorus). I've placed both of them in the effects loop together with my Boss DD-500 delay and the noise is unbearable. My loop is the modified one. Pedals are powered by a Decibel Eleven Hot Stone Deluxe.

When I put the Boss DD-500 as a stand alone pedal in the loop, it is very quiet, even though I run about 15ft of cables each way for the send and return. When I put back the Neunabers, the noise is back so I'm pretty sure that the Neunabers are the culprits.

I'm thinking of a few possible solutions:
1) Lehle Parallel L?
2) Empress Buffer + Stereo
3) Suhr Minimix II?
4) Ebtech

Any suggestions are welcome as I hate to get rid of the Neunaber because they are really good-sounding.

Have you tried one pedal at a time to see whether only one is the culprit? Loops can be tricky, as you can see from the Boss pedal being fine.

The Ebtech will only solve ground loop issues. You may have a ground loop, may not. There are ways to check.

Lehle products are great, I have two of their switchers, but whether they have a solution for you depends on what's causing the problem. You might want to contact Joki at Lehle's customer service. He's great at figuring out amp/pedal/power supply problems, and helping determine which of their products will solve them.

Boss pedals are buffered. You could check with Neunaber to see if their pedals are. A simple buffer may solve your problem, and there are lots of good ones on the market. Buffers change the impedance of following signals.

Here's an idea you can try yourself with gear you have: