Need insights into PRS Pickups (#8's, #10's)

vance

I am thinking about changing the pickups out of my Custom 24, and looking at some PRS pickups that I am not familiar with. Can anybody tell me anything about the #8's and the #10's?

Cheers

Can anybody describe the differences between #8's, #7's, #10's, and 57/08's to a guy who hasn't heard the #7's or #10's. I have 57/08's as a point of reference.

of course it's all subjective, but I can wade through...no disclaimers needed.

cheers

I've never played 8s or 10s, but I have some experience with 7s and 57/08s. The 57/08s are a very articulate set of vintage-flavored pickups. By comparison, I find the 7s to be a bit more modern sounding...a little darker, more compressed, but still a definite family resemblance. The #7s aren't my favorite pickups, but I like them a lot. As a matter of fact, I think they're PRS' most under-appreciated set of pickups.

I've never played 8s or 10s, but I have some experience with 7s and 57/08s. The 57/08s are a very articulate set of vintage-flavored pickups. By comparison, I find the 7s to be a bit more modern sounding...a little darker, more compressed, but still a definite family resemblance. The #7s aren't my favorite pickups, but I like them a lot. As a matter of fact, I think they're PRS' most under-appreciated set of pickups.

Thanks. Do you like the 57/08's better? What are your favorite PRS pickups? ...maybe I am barking up the wrong tree with the #7's, #8's and 10's and should be looking another direction. Any thoughts?

What type of music do you play and what tones are you looking for?