Neck advice needed

Big B

;)
Hello all!

I am new to playing guitar. I have been really enjoying this forum as well and I need some advice.

I got my first PRS last March. It's a S2 Cu24 24-08 and I have come to really enjoy playing it. So I was thinking about picking up another S2 but then noticed that the new S2's have a pattern thin compared to the pattern regular on my S2 that I am used to playing.

I see that actual measurements are not too far apart. My question is for those who have played both, how much do they feel different from each other? I wonder if because I am so new to playing if it is something to worry about or not.

Thanks

Hello all!

I am new to playing guitar. I have been really enjoying this forum as well and I need some advice.

I got my first PRS last March. It's a S2 Cu24 24-08 and I have come to really enjoy playing it. So I was thinking about picking up another S2 but then noticed that the new S2's have a pattern thin compared to the pattern regular on my S2 that I am used to playing.

I see that actual measurements are not too far apart. My question is for those who have played both, how much do they feel different from each other? I wonder if because I am so new to playing if it is something to worry about or not.

Thanks

Difficult to say as some people are a LOT more sensitive to what seems very 'minor' differences and others less so.

I own at least 1 guitar with each of the 4 'Pattern' necks, from Pattern Thin on my Cu24's, Pattern Regular (509), Pattern (HBii/Special) to Pattern Vintage (594's) and these are all in my personal 'comfort' zone. By that, I mean that the variations in shape are all within the 'range' of measurements I find comfortable. The necks combined with everything else (Radius, width, strings/string height, scale length etc as they all contribute to the 'feel') are all comfortable to me despite the variations in neck carves.