My tone was off....this is what it was

danktat

Award winning tattoo artist ... Amateur guitarist
Sometimes the littlest thing can throw off your sound. I was plugged in yesterday with my core custom 22. Somehow the entire time I was practicing, I felt like my tone just didn't sound right. It was just sort of harsh, and piercing on the top end. I felt like it was a bit scooped and I didn't have as much mids as I like to keep the warmth that I am accustomed to. I almost was like "is this what people keep saying about these Dragon 2 pickups"? Knowing good and well I've been playing through the same series of pups since around 2000 or 2001. Made a whole bunch of adjustments to my guitar tone knobs volume knobs even went over to the amp and adjusted a few things. After getting frustrated and about ready to give up for the day, I looked over and realized that the bright Button had somehow gotten depressed. I never play with the bright button on because it gives me a little too much cut when I have my presence turned up to about 5. I released that button, and voila! That sweet Paul Reed Smith through Fender tubes sound that I am accustomed to was back in action. Sometimes you got to start with the really simple THEN and work your way to more complex.

97997251_10163558887520331_2555198030051540992_o.jpg

You would think it would be easy for them to design the amp with an indicator light to know when it’s on. I used to have a Fender Deluxe Reverb in the 80’s. The volume knob was a push/pull to turn the bright on and off. There was no way to accidentally have it on. Plus it sounded like crap with it turned on.

Haha - it's the smallest things that will get you! I once spent a hour troubleshooting my tone, which unexplicably sucked... only to find that my Wah was on (from the day before.)

That might have explained why all I could play were Kirk Hammet licks. :cool:

Thank goodness you figured that out before driving yourself crazy.