My head is a mess...

cshallcross

So here is the current issue:

I've been playing for about 25 years. I started with Fenders (MIM), and have had Plus's, Deluxe's, US tele's, MIM tele's, Gibson's, Epiphones, 8 strings, vintage Mustangs...basically all over the place. I've had two SE's now and absolutely love them, but I'm craving more. And I feel like I can't help but want something slightly older in a PRS, but budget friendly. So, with that, I feel like some older CE's, or Custom's are good options...but then I spotted a super clean 305 I can budget for. I'm sooooooooo tempted because it would totally cover that empty spot left behind from selling my Deluxe's and Strat Plus. I feel like I'm open to lots of finishes, and setups, but the 305 reminds me of my first love (swamp ash PRS) that I could never obtain as a teen. I'm really looking for a carved top and US hardware, with everything be stock. That's basically it. I know every PRS is going to be lovely for the most part.

So, now that I'm done rambling, can someone knock some sense into me? Do I pull the trigger on the 305 knowing they don't make them anymore, it's spotless, has a carved top, and checks off all of my wants...or do I let this one go and hope for a good deal down the road? I feel this sense of urgency but I know it's GAS.

305 lovers? Haters? Please tell me why.

If there is another PRS that you want more and you can likely afford if you work to save up, just wait. If this is THE PRS for you, go for it!

Don't know if you're talking swamp ash special HSH or NF, or swamp ash studio but I've seen all three at pretty reasonable prices.

You are going to find yourself enamoured with this guitar. My 305 is/was my first core PRS, and I gigged/practiced with it a lot.
Great weight, lovely body carve, fantastic neck, and wonderful locking tuners sealed my fate as a PRS toady... I mean fanboi... I mean lover... oh never mind