Multiple Guitar FX Processor sequencer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by allan, Sep 14, 2017 at 9:56 AM.

  1. allan

    allan One man one life make the best of what you have

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    39
    Hi everyone well its been a few years since l last bought a Multiple Guitar FX Processor sequencer would like your thoughts on what you think would be a good buy. to be honest l do not want to go out and spend a lot of cash on something l will never get the full use out of nor would l need any more than about 4 peddles

    ok my friends over to you
    Allan;)
     
  2. pac90

    pac90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    77
    Nothing better than the anticipation of a new toy :)

    Don't know what your budget is Allan, or what effects you want, but first thought would be the Boss MS-3, which is a combined switcher for 3 pedals and has lots of Boss effects built in, for about 400bucks........I am coveting it at the moment myself, so a bit biased

    Enjoy the hunt



    https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MS3Switcher
     
  3. bodia

    bodia Authorities said.....best leave it.....unsolved

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6,772
    Likes Received:
    3,972
  4. owickerman

    owickerman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    152
    I bought a used Boss GT-100 for 200€, very happy with it, super simple to use. Plugged with 4 cables method in my amp for very good results.
     
  5. sergiodeblanc

    sergiodeblanc Rah rah ah ah ah!

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    12,341
    Likes Received:
    4,764
    I'm all about the Zoom line from a few years ago. The G3 is really nice if you don't need pitch based effects, and $100 or so used.
     
  6. allan

    allan One man one life make the best of what you have

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    39
    thanks so much l will start to have a look
    regards
    allan
     
  7. Dusty Chalk

    Dusty Chalk alberngruppenführer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    TC Electronics G-System or Nova System

    The dirt is analog -- as it should be! -- and the modulations (reverb, chorus, etc.) are digital...which is the perfect division of labor.
     
    LSchefman likes this.
  8. LSchefman

    LSchefman Hears Tones

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    17,365
    Likes Received:
    4,179
    I like the TC Nova a lot, it's a very good multi-effects box for the dough.
     
    Dusty Chalk likes this.
  9. Iceman101

    Iceman101 There's always room for one more.....

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    155
    Can't go wrong with the tc Nova.
     
    Dusty Chalk likes this.
  10. allan

    allan One man one life make the best of what you have

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    39
    well l am going to have to phrase this question in a different manner as my last one was removed because l name the product l was asking about, anyway l have a small guitar amp which l bought about 7 years ago its never been used. l have now bought a guitar effects processor now my question is do l set the Bass Mid and tone to mid points or turn them all the way back to zero to get the best results from both units
    regards
    allan
     
  11. IKnowALittle

    IKnowALittle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    207
    Well, I gig a lot and I use the Zoom G5.
    Does everything I need it to do.
    I will never claim that it replaces premium effects processors, but it does fine for rock 'n roll.

    At the end of the day, just get what sounds good to yourself and is in your budget.
    Don't over analyze it, you will drive yourself crazy.
     
  12. bodia

    bodia Authorities said.....best leave it.....unsolved

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6,772
    Likes Received:
    3,972
    I would set them at the midpoint and adjust to your liking from there.
     
  13. owickerman

    owickerman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    152
    Lets say it depends of the way you're using it.
    I plug my multi effect using the 4 cables method; it means that the amp preamp is used when I activate the multi effect effects loop.
    So, I set the amp preamp to my liking WITHOUT the multi effect, then I use the multi effect.
    My Boss GT100 also has a preamp section, so, when I use it, I switch off the effects loop on the GT 100 and it bypasses the amp preamp.

    I do not know if I'm clear, I strongly recommend, if your multi effects unit and your amp both have an affect loop, that you use the 4 cables methods. There is plenty of videos available on the internet explaining how and why doing so.
     
  14. Dusty Chalk

    Dusty Chalk alberngruppenführer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    Yeah, it's called "dialing it in" -- you don't just dial in the amp, you dial in the whole chain.

    Midpoints, definitely. You'd have to be really good at dialing in your amp from zero, and even then, you'd still have to make adjustments to the other controls once you started bringing them up.
     

Share This Page