MT15 can use KT77 & EL34 & 6V6 & 6CA7also?

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by LedHendriani, Oct 21, 2020.

  1. LedHendriani

    LedHendriani New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    A site shows these tubes as being able to put into the MT15 and are selling them as such...

    Is that with or with modifications?

    Of course a rebias must be done where needed...

    But is it just plug (bias) and play???
     
  2. TroyBaer

    TroyBaer Really knows where his towel is.

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    115
    Is Eurotubes the site in question? They have good prices and selection, but their technical advice is often a bit dodgy and/or warranty-voiding.

    FWIW, I've put JJ 6V6s in an Archon 50 (i.e. not an MT15 but close) before. It works -- as in, it makes noise and nothing melts, catches on fire, or explodes -- because the JJ6V6s have voltage ratings more like a 6L6, but it also cuts quite a bit of volume and bass.
     
  3. LedHendriani

    LedHendriani New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes that is the site. Did not want to maybe get thrown out (being a newbie here) by stating another site' name!
     
  4. Brennen

    Brennen New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Plug and play after a quick bias. Put EL34L's in mine and love it. Multimeter and a jewelers philips is all you need. BTW just enough clearance in the chassis for the tubes.
     
  5. LedHendriani

    LedHendriani New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    With my Carvin MT3212, there is a switch to choose between 6L6GC/5881 or EL34...

    How is the MT15 able to do this minus the switch without causing failure???
     
  6. elvis

    elvis Hamfisted String Banger

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes Received:
    3,037
    Probably it runs a pretty low plate voltage.l and has enough bias current range.
     
    claythomas and DreamTheaterRules like this.
  7. Cflowers

    Cflowers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    13
    I am looking to swap in some EL34s for my MT15. I have never set the bias on an amp, but I understand where the multi-meter comes into play. Could you describe the process for this amp, and where you set the bias for the EL34s?
     
  8. elvis

    elvis Hamfisted String Banger

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes Received:
    3,037
    Measure the voltage from bias to gnd. It will give you a voltage that corresponds to current. 1mV = 1mA. Set the new tubes to the same amount. Just as a guess I expect you’ll see something in the range of 20mV to 30mV.
     
    claythomas likes this.
  9. Cflowers

    Cflowers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    13
    Sweet! Thank you for the reply. Going to load up the EL34s tonight and see how it sounds/feels.
     
  10. Bluesverb

    Bluesverb Currently in a long term relationship with myself!

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    351
    To all. Not knowing the physical circuit, I would not put EL-34s in there. The heater current is quite a bit higher for an El-34 than a 6L6. You may get by for a bit, but, I would call Mat King at PRS.

    That said, 6V6 or 6CA7s should work as a lot of the newer versions have better tolerances.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice